Assembly of French Départements (ADF)

Created in 1946, ADF is a pluralistic association of councillors that brings together 102 French départements (96 metropolitan and 6 overseas), offering councillors and département the means to discuss ideas, exchange experiences and decide on a common stance on important national issues.

Missions of the Assembly of the Départements of France:

The commissions:

Each of the 102 departmental councils is composed of commissions and working groups, bringing together a certain number of councillors.
The law lays down the number of appointments and each département creates the organisation it wishes according to the areas of competence that is has and the subjects it wishes to get involved in.
Studies are carried out and opinions are expressed by the councillors via these commissions.
The members study and assess the files that are to be debated at the plenary session.
The councillors appointed to monitor the work carried out by the Assembly of the départements of France come from members of these commissions.

President: Claudy LEBRETON, Président du Conseil Général des Côtes d’Armor

Contact details:

Assemblée des Départements de France
6, rue Duguay-Trouin - 75006 Paris
Tel : 01 45 49 60 20
Fax : 01 45 49 60 21

Contact GT CEPLI: Christine CÔTE (


Assembly of French Départements (ADF) - EN (.pdf file - 164.25 KB)